THE Next Big Thing?

It seems like on an every day basis I’m being asked the question “what’s next?”

GaryVEESocial Media

“What’s the next Snapchat/Vine/Instagram/Twitter/Tumblr?”

It’s funny because I always say “I’m not Nostradamus. I don’t know what’s next, but the second I see it, I’ll know it.”

Recently I’ve become very infatuated with both Vine and Medium, and I think that both platforms have a chance to become mainstays over the next 2-7 years. However, while this question has been popping up over the last few weeks, I’ve been watching the San Antonio Spurs, a full 13 years after Tim Duncan’s first championship, glide through the western conference finals on their way to the NBA finals with a chance at winning another championship. It reminded me of what I really think when people ask me that question, which is “Yes, I’m very excited about Vine and Medium and all these other things, but I find myself dramatically more excited about the tried and true.”

Much like the Spurs, everybody’s waiting for the next super-player/super-team a la The Heat or Kyrie Irving, or who’s the next star of the league, but meanwhile I’m actually the most excited about the players who are the mainstays like Tim Duncan and Tony Parker and Manu Ginbóili.

I’m much more excited about the maturity of Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, and (dare I say?) Pinterest, and the efficiencies I can now get out of them. I mean, these are companies that are 3-8 years old (which, by the way, is only the blink of an eye in the scheme of the world), and so when everybody’s hunting for the next big thing, I think the next big thing in social media is actually the maturity of these platforms and starting to get the real value out of their scale, maturity, and insights.

I understand that the next thing is always the exciting thing, but as with relationships, sports, and just about anything in the real world, the one that’s been around, the tried and true, that’s where the real action is. So instead of finding the next big app, or the next big platform, I still think that we’re in the very early stages (and I mean like the National Anthem of a 15 inning game) of the platforms that are out there right now. I’m looking at you, Facebook and Twitter.

Written by; Gary Vaynerchuk is a New York Times and Wall Street Journal Best-Selling author, self-taught wine expert, and innovative entrepreneur. You can find out more at garyvaynerchuk.com and follow him on Twitter: @garyvee.

...Go on say something;

